About us

S-WIN connects researchers and innovative entrepreneurs in four fields and works on them by means of three fields of activity.

Products, processes and know-how

S-WIN initiates research and cooperation projects and promotes innovation. S-WIN supports SMEs and forest enterprises in the development of products and processes, e.g. with the aim of increasing competitiveness. In addition, S-WIN tracks developments in the sector and plays a key role in shaping the research strategy.

Networking and knowledge transfer 

S-WIN is the most important contact for companies, research institutions, associations, federal offices and organisations on a national and international level in the field of innovation and research. The interdisciplinary exchange is promoted by exclusive occasions and personal contacts and visits and thus the knowledge and technology transfer (KTT) between economics, research and teachings is promoted.

Interface for European projects

At the European level, S-WIN represents Switzerland in the “Forest-based sector Technology Platform FTP”, compares the programmes with the needs of the industry, provides information and paves the way for participation in European projects and programmes, such as the ERA-NET+ “Innovation in the forest-based sector” supported by Innosuisse.



S-WIN – the network for innovative wood technologies for the decarbonisation of society.

Our mission

  • We support the Swiss forest and timber industry in the development of products and processes for the decarbonisation of society.
  • We are a driving force and hub for the initiation of projects and activities in research and development. We open up new fields for R&D activities and build bridges to other scientific disciplines.
  • We ensure the transfer of knowledge and technology between business, society, research and teaching by bringing together needs and contacts, organising events and further training and promoting the exchange of ideas.
  • We are the point of contact for research policy decisions in the forest and timber sector through our large network, know-how and intensive exchange with the industry and federal offices.
  • We act as an interface to international R&D institutions, committees and platforms as well as to national funding sources, thus linking the Swiss forest and timber industry with other countries.

Our institutions


Our members form the S-WIN knowledge pool and are involved in research projects, workshops and events. S-WIN members benefit from free innovation checks and innovation consultations. They are specifically informed about innovations and activities in research and benefit from discounts at events.

Advisory board

The board sets the priorities and activities for S-WIN. To this end, it prepares proposals for the general assembly. It makes its knowledge available to the members for the initiation of projects as well as for innovation checks and innovation consultations. The Executive Board is headed by three presidents from complementary sectors.

Advisory board members

  • Dr. Andrea Bernasconi, Haute École d’Ingénierie et de gestion – HES-SO/heig-vd, Yverdon-les-Bains
  • Dr. Serge Biollaz, Paul Scherrer Institut, Thermal Process Engineering Group, Villigen
  • Prof. Dr. Ingo Burgert, ETH, Institut für Baustoffe, Zürich; Empa, Departement “Functional Materials”, Dübendorf
  • Sandra Burlet, Lignum Holzwirtschaft Schweiz, Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Frangi, ETH, Institut für Baustatik und Konstruktion, Zürich
  • Markus Lädrach, OLWO AG, Worb
  • Dr. Bernhard Pauli, Hochschule für Agrar-, Forst- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften (HAFL), Zollikofen
  • Dr. Urs Rhyner, Agro Energie Schwyz AG, Schwyz
  • Dr. Janine Schweier, Eidg. Forschungsanstalt WSL, Birmensdorf
  • Gordian Stapf, Henkel & Cie. AG, Sempach Station
  • Patrick Suter, ERNE AG Holzbau, Stein
  • Prof. Dr. Heiko Thömen, Berner Fachhochschule – Architektur, Holz und Bau, Biel/Bienne


  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Frangi, ETH, Institut für Baustatik und Konstruktion, Zürich
  • Patrick Suter, ERNE AG Holzbau, Stein
  • Prof. Dr. Heiko Thömen, Berner Fachhochschule – Architektur, Holz und Bau, Biel/Bienne

Our network

Company members

Institutional members

  • Berner Fachhochschule, Institut für Werkstoffe und Holztechnologie www.ahb.bfh.ch/wh
  • Berner Fachhochschule, Institut für Holzbau, Tragwerke und Architektur www.ahb.bfh.ch/hta
  • Berner Fachhochschule, Institut für digitale Bau- und Holzwirtschaft www.ahb.bfh.ch/dbh
  • Empa, Eidgenössische Materialprüf- und Forschungsanstalt, Abteilung Cellulose & Wood Materials, www.empa.ch
  • Empa, Eidgenössische Materialprüf- und Forschungsanstalt, Abteilung Ingenieur-Strukturen, www.empa.ch
  • Empa, Eidgenössische Materialprüf- und Forschungsanstalt,  Abteilung Akustik/Lärmminderung, www.empa.ch
  • EPFL, Laboratory for Timber Constructions IBOIS, http://ibois.epfl.ch/
  • ETHZ, Institut für Baustatik und Konstruktion, www.ibk.ethz.ch
  • ETHZ, Wood materials Science Group,  www.ifb.ethz.ch/woodmaterialsscience
  • HAFL Hochschule für Agrar-, Forst- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften, www.bfh.ch/hafl
  • Haute École d’Ingénierie et de gestion – heig-vd, www.heig-vd.ch
  • HSLU Hochschule Luzern, Planung in Architektur – CLTP, www.hslu.ch
  • Paul Scherrer Institut, www.psi.ch
  • Schweizerische Bauschule Aarau, www.bauschule.ch
  • WSL Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft, www.wsl.ch
  • ZHAW Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, Institut für Chemie und biologische Chemie, www.zhaw.ch/icbt

Individual members

  • Jean-Charles Astori, Sion
  • Sylvain Beaud, Bulle
  • Jürg Biedermann, Diepoldsau
  • Werner Bühler, Emmenbrücke
  • Martial Chabloz, Lausanne
  • Patrick Corbat, Vendlincourt
  • Christopher Craw, Gingins
  • Pierre-André Dupraz, Genève
  • Reto Emery, Morges
  • Christian Fausch, Rheinau
  • Thomas Fedrizzi, Winterthur
  • Fulvio Giudici, S. Antonio
  • Stephan Glaus, Bern
  • Raffael Graf, Bern
  • Jonathan Graz, Le Mont-sur-Lausanne
  • Daniel Hadorn, Steffisburg
  • Thomas Häring, Frenkendorf
  • Martin Hilbel, Rheinfelden
  • Andreas Hofmeier, Zug
  • Walter Hobi, Zürich
  • Beat Hofstetter, Riffenmatt
  • Daniel Ingold, Le Mont-sur-Lausanne
  • Pascal Jeanrenaud, Moudon
  • Benjamin Kunz, Dietlikon
  • Peter Lämmle, Zürich
  • Franz Lehnherr, Burgdorf
  • Christiane Maillefer, Nyon
  • Roland Malgiaritta, Bever
  • Bruno Maurer, Bern
  • Markus Mooser, Bretigny
  • Mathias Oberholzer, Brossard (CA)
  • Marcel Rechsteiner, Villeneuve
  • Hansbeat Reusser, Winterthur
  • Jean-René Roh, Sion
  • Christian Rohrer, Sachseln
  • Michel Roncelli, Bellinzona
  • Martin Schaub, Andelfingen
  • Hansueli Scheurer, Lyss
  • Jürg Schiess, Münchwilen
  • Bruno Schmid, Schaffhausen
  • Pius Schuler, Rothenturm
  • Stefan Vögtli, Lupsigen
  • Charles von Büren, Bern
  • Adrian Wenger, Längenbühl
  • François Wenker, Wallenried
  • Roman Winkler, Felsenau
  • Nicolas Zeuggin, Basel
  • Christian Zürcher, Finstersee

National funding agencies


The employees of the office are responsible for the innovation checks, innovation consultations, workshops and events. The office is the interface between industry and research and filters industry-specific information. It makes the information available to members and links companies with funding programmes. In addition, it supports and accompanies the members in initiating R&D projects and is the contact point for national and international questions on innovation and research.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information or if you have any questions:

Dimitra Vlaskou
Innovation manager

Dimitra Vlaskou

Thomas Näher
Managing director

Thomas Näher

Olin Bartlome
Innovation manager

Olin Bartlome